The Maryland Troopers Association


The Maryland Troopers Association was organized in 1979 for the purpose of advancing the principles of professionalism in law enforcement and to facilitate a meaningful dialogue between employees and the Administration concerning issues of mutual concern.  This Association contributes significantly to protecting the security of troopers, civilian MSP personnel and retirees by providing a benefit package that addresses legislative representation in matters of public safety, legal representation, education and training scholarships, and death relief.

The year 2017 membership of the MTA stands at approximately 2,629 of which 1,120 are active members and 1,509 are retirees.  To facilitate the effective management and participation of our members, the MTA has 13 Lodges located thoughout the State of Maryland.   Please visit our lodges section for more detailed information concerning the lodges.  

 To Register as a new user on the Maryland Troopers site, follow these steps: 

1. Mouse over the "Troopers Only" tab and a drop down menu will appear. 

2. Click on "Register". 

3. Fill out the information requested and submit.

4. An e-mail will be sent to your registered e-mail address to confirm that it is legitimate.

5. Follow confirmation instructions  

6. The webmaster will check your status and complete the authorization process.  

7. In the future, Click on "Log In" under the "Troopers Only" tab and use your new Username and Password whenever logging in. 



Maryland State Police Recruiting Video








  • 2013 Softball Tournament Results

    July 15, 2013


    The results of the 38th Annual MSP Softball Tournament from June 29th & 30th.  Many thanks to the MTA, Alumni Troopers Associaiton and State Troopers Lodge 69.

    Gold Divison
    1st - CED / DED
    2nd - North East
    3rd - Prince Frederick / Laplata
        The MVP Ted Wolfe Award was presented to Sgt. Jason Leitchman of CED.  All tournament selections included;
    CED / DED:
    S/Tpr. Chris Snyder
    Lt. John Wilhelm
    Sgt. Rich Keys
    Billy Chad
    North East
    TFC Joe Coudon
    Cpl. Jeremy Burns
    Sgt. Colin Bristow
    Prince Frederick
    Lt. Randy Stephens
    S/Tpr. Dave Whipp
    1st - Frederick / Hagerstown
    2nd - Tri County (Salisbury/Berlin)
    3rd - Centerville
       MVP of the silver division was TFC Adam Thomas of the Frederick Barrack. 
        A story will be submitted to the MTA for inclusion in the magazine.
    Sgt. Brian K. Smith #2918
    Maryland State Police
    Frederick Barrack
    Team 4 - (301) 600-4150





Discount Insurance Rates


Around the Network


  • MTA Legislative Night


    4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

  • MSP Academy Class Graduation


    10:00 am - 12:00 pm

  • MSP Fallen Heroes Ceremony


    11:00 am - 2:00 pm


    Maryland State Police Fallen Heroes Ceremony will held in the MSP Quadrangle at MSP Headquarters, Pikesville, Md.  A luncheon,  provided by the Maryland Troopers Association, will follow the ceremony.