The Maryland Troopers Association


The Maryland Troopers Association was organized in 1979 for the purpose of advancing the principles of professionalism in law enforcement and to facilitate a meaningful dialogue between employees and the Administration concerning issues of mutual concern.  This Association contributes significantly to protecting the security of troopers, civilian MSP personnel and retirees by providing a benefit package that addresses legislative representation in matters of public safety, legal representation, education and training scholarships, and death relief.

The year 2017 membership of the MTA stands at approximately 2,629 of which 1,120 are active members and 1,509 are retirees.  To facilitate the effective management and participation of our members, the MTA has 13 Lodges located thoughout the State of Maryland.   Please visit our lodges section for more detailed information concerning the lodges.  

 To Register as a new user on the Maryland Troopers site, follow these steps: 

1. Mouse over the "Troopers Only" tab and a drop down menu will appear. 

2. Click on "Register". 

3. Fill out the information requested and submit.

4. An e-mail will be sent to your registered e-mail address to confirm that it is legitimate.

5. Follow confirmation instructions  

6. The webmaster will check your status and complete the authorization process.  

7. In the future, Click on "Log In" under the "Troopers Only" tab and use your new Username and Password whenever logging in. 



Maryland State Police Recruiting Video








  • Governor Elect Hogan Appoints Retired Lt. Col. Steve Moyer as Secretary of DPSCS

    December 30, 2014



    Governor-elect Larry Hogan announced four senior administration officials at a news conference Tuesday.
    The appointments are as follows:
    Maryland Insurance Commissioner: Al Redmer, Jr. He is managing member of Redmer Insurance Group and owner of Redmer Financial Group. A 13-year member of the Maryland General Assembly, Redmer is the former House Minority Whip. He served as Maryland Insurance Commissioner from 2003 to 2005.
    Secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services: Stephen Moyer. Moyer retired from Maryland State Police after a distinguished 24-year career as a Lieutenant Colonel and Deputy Secretary. Moyer also served as deputy secretary for the Maryland Department of Juvenile Services and as security director for the University of Maryland Medical Center.
    Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs: George W. Owings III. Former Majority Whip of the Maryland House of Delegates, Owings served as a delegate for nearly two decades, representing Calvert County. Owings is a Vietnam veteran and served as secretary of Veterans Affairs from 2004 to 2007.
    Secretary of State: John C Wobensmith. He has worked for five U.S. presidents and served as the senior Defense Department representative in Turkey. He has over four decades of experience in the national security field and was vice president for international marketing for Sensys Technologies in London. He has served on numerous boards and commissions in the state, including the Anne Arundel County School Board.
    "All four individuals bring a wealth of experience to their respective roles," Hogan said. "I am pleased to have them as a part of the team."





Discount Insurance Rates


Around the Network


  • No upcoming events