The Maryland Troopers Association


The Maryland Troopers Association was organized in 1979 for the purpose of advancing the principles of professionalism in law enforcement and to facilitate a meaningful dialogue between employees and the Administration concerning issues of mutual concern.  This Association contributes significantly to protecting the security of troopers, civilian MSP personnel and retirees by providing a benefit package that addresses legislative representation in matters of public safety, legal representation, education and training scholarships, and death relief.

The year 2017 membership of the MTA stands at approximately 2,629 of which 1,120 are active members and 1,509 are retirees.  To facilitate the effective management and participation of our members, the MTA has 13 Lodges located thoughout the State of Maryland.   Please visit our lodges section for more detailed information concerning the lodges.  

 To Register as a new user on the Maryland Troopers site, follow these steps: 

1. Mouse over the "Troopers Only" tab and a drop down menu will appear. 

2. Click on "Register". 

3. Fill out the information requested and submit.

4. An e-mail will be sent to your registered e-mail address to confirm that it is legitimate.

5. Follow confirmation instructions  

6. The webmaster will check your status and complete the authorization process.  

7. In the future, Click on "Log In" under the "Troopers Only" tab and use your new Username and Password whenever logging in. 



Maryland State Police Recruiting Video








  • Retired Lt. Col. Pete Landon Appointed as Director of Maryland's Homeland Security

    July 24, 2015

    Governor Larry Hogan reshuffled his homeland security team Friday to replace two top officials he appointed when he took office in January.
    The Governor named Walter F. "Pete" Landon, a retired Maryland State Police lieutenant colonel, as director of the Governor's Office of Homeland Security. He will succeed Timothy E. Hutchins, a former state police superintendent and delegate from Charles County.
    Russell Strickland, a former emergency services director in Harford County, was named to replace Clay Stamp as executive director of the Maryland Emergency Services Agency.
    Matthew A. Clark, Hogan's communications director, said neither Hutchins nor Stamp was asked to leave and that both men are resigning for personal reasons.
    Stamp, who played a key coordinating role during the Baltimore riots this spring, will stay on as a senior adviser on emergency management and will chair and advisory council on emergency management.





Discount Insurance Rates


Around the Network


  • MTA Legislative Night


    4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

  • MSP Academy Class Graduation


    10:00 am - 12:00 pm

  • MSP Fallen Heroes Ceremony


    11:00 am - 2:00 pm


    Maryland State Police Fallen Heroes Ceremony will held in the MSP Quadrangle at MSP Headquarters, Pikesville, Md.  A luncheon,  provided by the Maryland Troopers Association, will follow the ceremony.